California Democratic Party Convention

The Democratic State Central Committee met in San Francisco May 31-June 2

Which Democratic Party Leaders and Presidential Candidates were present?

Saturday Streaming Video

Saturday Speakers:

  • CDP Acting Chair Alexandra Gallardo-Rooker
  • Former San Francisco Mayor Willie Brown
  • San Francisco Mayor London Breed
  • Governor Gavin Newsom
  • U.S. House Speaker Nancy Pelosi
  • Senate President pro Tem Toni G. Atkins
  • Lt. Governor Eleni Kounalakis
  • Attorney General Xavier Becerra
  • Controller Betty Yee
  • Secretary of State Alex Padilla
  • Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Lara
  • Tom Steyer, Founder of NextGen Climate
  • Joe Sanberg, Founder of CALEITC4Me
  • State Treasurer Fiona Ma
  • Supt. of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond
  • Assemblymember Monique Limon

Legislative Leader Lunch Program Saturday afternoon:

  • Senate President Pro Tem Toni Atkins
  • Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon
  • California Congressional Delegation Chair, U.S. Rep. Zoe Lofgren

CDP Convention Dinner Saturday night:

  • U.S. Representative for California’s 28th congressional district & Chair of United States House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence Adam Schiff
  • U.S. Representative for California’s 43rd congressional district & Chair of United States House Committee on Financial Services Maxine Waters

Sunday Streaming Video

Sunday Streaming Video Part 2

The race for the Democratic presidential nomination came to San Francisco this weekend, where 14 of 23 declared candidates delivered seven minute speeches to some 5,000 delegates inside one lively hall at the California Democratic Party Convention.

The speeches drew everything from raucous cheers to prolonged boos. And they weren’t televised, which means the audio versions posted by CapRadio is a one-stop shop to hear them all.



  • Kamala Harris, U.S. senator
  • Beto O’Rourke, former Congress member

  • Elizabeth Warren, U.S. senator

  • Kirsten Gillibrand, U.S. senator

  • Tulsi Gabbard, Congress member

  • Pete Buttigieg, Mayor

  • Eric Swalwell, Congress member

  • Amy Klobuchar, U.S. senator

  • John Hickenlooper, former governor

  • Jay Inslee, governor

  • Cory Booker, U.S. senator



  • Bernie Sanders, U.S. senator
  • Julian Castro, former U.S. secretary of Housing and Urban Development
  • John Delaney, former Congress member

Not Appearing at California Democratic Party Convention

  • Joe Biden
  • Michael Bennet
  • Bill de Blasio
  • Steve Bullock
  • Mike Gravel
  • Wayne Messam
  • Seth Moulton
  • Tim Ryan
  • Marianne Williamson
  • Andrew Yang


Leave a Reply